ProjectDraftSamplev3

ProjectDraftSamplev3

Description:
Professional flyer in grayscale for a graduate leadership conference.

Process:
After sketching a dozen layouts, I got the opinion of a lab aid, a friend, and my roommate to decide which one I wanted to develop. When they all had one in common that they liked, I made the layout with Adobe Indesign. The corner elements pull the reader onto the page when set against a white wall, and the focus continues in a rough Z pattern following the tabs that are rounded to follow the corner elements. Graduate was left smaller than Leadership Conference because I wanted to emphasize what it was, rather than who it was for. The bulk of the body copy was put first, as it was assumed that a readers eyes would quickly scan to the end of the page, where they would find the pertinent details.

Message:
First and foremost, I am trying to show basic information to attract graduates, letting them see if it fits their schedule, then presenting them with the benefits.

Audience:
Recent college graduates.

Best Takeaway:
Simplicity is key, and a picture of younger people does wonders to target them.

Title Font Name & Category:
Minion Pro Bold – Oldstyle

Copy Font Name & Category:
Minion Pro – Oldstyle

Images Used:

  1. http://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/VouantLogo.jpg
  2. https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/JuliePeterson-Leadership-conference-business-rexburg-Idaho_7528-as-Smart-Object-1.jpg
2 thoughts on “Graduate Leadership Conference Flyer

  1. I like how you put shapes at opposite corners; that helped catch my eye. I think you’re picture is a little overwhelming, but I like the placement of it. I also think that some of the extra information should have just stayed with the body copy, rather than taking up some of your white space. Your alignment looks good, but I think the “Graduate” looks a little off. Awesome design!

    Check out Vanessa’s blog! http://vanvlove.wordpress.com
    Here’s the link to my blog: http://ahitofwittywords.wordpress.com

  2. You did a really great job on your project. To be able to get so many different perspectives was a smart idea & I commend you on that. Over all Great job on the finished product.

Leave a Reply

